This is a wicked recipe that I stole *cough ahem I mean borrowed from my sister-in-law and I have made it ever since. I love it because its easy and quick, super healthy and my daughter loves it ! I know that lots of people and cooking purists will shudder because in this I don’t make my pasta and I use passata from a jar but meh you try having a toddler and a job and see if you still make every step from scratch !

Ingredients:

1 large bunch of fresh spinach (you can use frozen pre chopped if fresh isnt available)

1 medium brown onion

2 cloves garlic (crushed)

1 tub of low-fat ricotta ( you don’t have to use low-fat )

1/4 cup shaved parmesan

I bottle of tomato passata

Salt and Pepper

1 egg (lightly beaten)

1 cup pizza cheese blend ( it melts better)

1 package of fresh lasagna sheets ( you can use the hard tubes but I find the fresh sheets easy to use and they taste better )

Method:

Chop the spinach and blanch it in a pot with boiling water, once its soft drain off the water and squeeze out the excess moisture (wait until its cool to do that step) Now while the spinach is blanching I like to lightly fry off the onion and garlic. Now in a large bow mix the ricotta, parmesan, a small handful of the pizza cheese, the spinach, onion and garlic and the egg. Mix it all up really well until combined.

Now your ready to put it all together ! Simply slice the sheets in half along the width ( yes the width not the length ) now take a spoonful of the mixture and place it at one end of the sheet and spread it to each end in a tube. Now roll the sheets up into little tubes. Just keep repeating the process till all the mixture is used up.

The last step is so easy ! Just spread a layer of tomato passata over the bottom of an oven proof dish and then lay the tubes in to the dish squish them in so you fill the whole dish. Now over the top spread more tomato passata over the top of the tubes and sprinkle with cheese.

Then put it all into a pre heated oven at about 180 degrees celsius and bake until cheese is melted and brown.

Serve with a crisp green salad and some crusty bread ! YUM

This is such an easy delicious healthy recipe and you can even make it the day before if your busy. Or if like me you like to be super organised you can double the mix and roll up the tubes and freeze half for another time! So easy !