This recipe evolved in my kitchen during a bit of an obsessive weight loss get healthy binge I went on and its been a bit of a staple ever since. I love it because it’s easy to make, its delicious and there are many different ways to make it according to what is seasonally at its best. It started out as a Quiche of sorts then I decided that had way to much excess crap in it and I simplified it and made it healthier. I hope you enjoy it !

Ingredients:

1/2 bunch of fresh spinach

1 half cup cooked and diced pumpkin

1 half cup cooked and diced potato

1 half small red capsicum diced

1 medium brown onion

2 cloves of garlic

1 thinly sliced zucchini

6 button mushrooms sliced thin

1/4 cup of finely sliced sun-dried tomatoes

1 small tin of asparagus cuts

1/2 cup low-fat shredded tasty cheese

6 eggs

1/2 cup skim milk

Method: 

I fry my onion and garlic in a little butter with the mushrooms first, then while that is on I shred the spinach and blanch it in boiling water until its soft. I then take all the veggies and spread them out in a large rectangle baking dish. Then spread the spinach over all the veggies.

The next step is to lightly beat the eggs and add the milk and whisk it all together. Pour the egg mix over the top of the veggies and then sprinkle cheese over the top. Pop it into an oven at 180 degrees till the cheese is brown and the frittata is cooked firm.

Serving:

Once the frittata is cooked cut a big slice and serve on a plate, I like to serve it with a light garden salad, with tomatoes, lettuce greens, cucumber, olives, spanish onion, celery and some finely sliced capsicum.

You can serve the frittata hot or even cold its delicious both ways ! And you can substitute any veggies that are seasonally better or that you prefer the taste of. The key is making sure the hard veggies like the pumpkin and potato are cooked first ! You can also make this with cream instead of milk etc but it adds calories and doesn’t taste any better ! Definitely add olives to the mix too if you like them ! Oh and of course you could add prosciutto, bacon or ham if you like !

This recipe is super easy, really healthy and a great way to get kids to eat veggies !

(photo courtesy of Louise Lister via Taste.com.au)

I would have made it and posted a piccy but im lazy like that 😉

