This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I recently interviewed Fantasy writer Peter Koevari, Peter is an australian author of Legends of Marithia the first in a series of fantasy books. The Legends of Marithia was released in the USA and has had great success. I had the pleasure of asking Peter all about himself and his experiences with writing, I hope you enjoy the interview.

First of all, tell us a little bit about yourself?

I was brought into this world in Hungary, Europe and my parents immigrated into Australia when I was 6 years of age. My upbringing involved a lot of time playing video games, writing short stories, watching countless movies, and loving English classes in high school. I used to daydream a lot in classes that didn’t interest me and would take myself to places far in the depths of my imagination. I have a career in IT, love spending time with my family, love music, play guitar, enjoy blogging and love bringing the worlds in my imagination to life through writing.

You’re a writer of Fantasy novels, what drew you to that genre?

There is something fascinating about fantasy which makes me feel as if anything is possible. Rules that we know in the real world can be bent or broken and we meet creatures and elements that we would otherwise never know. I have fond memories of watching Star Wars, Labyrinth, The Dark Crystal, Back to the Future, and countless movies that sent my imagination wild. I tried writing many genres when I was younger and attempted everything including mysteries, action, erotica, and fantasy. Out of everything I wrote, fantasy was the only genre that flowed out of me onto the pages and I loved returning to. I knew for the past 10 years that I had many worlds of fantasy within me and I wanted to share my stories with the world.

A lot of author’s first novels are said to be semi-autobiographical, is there anything of your real life in your books?

It’s funny that you say that as there are elements of my life in the books. An interesting story is that in a particular scene in Legends of Marithia: Prophecies Awakening, I clearly saw a songstress who played the violin and for some reason, she remained un-named. To cut a long story short, when I met my other half long after the manuscript was written and she first played violin, I just knew that she was the one that I saw in the book. Of course, I didn’t know that at the time, but when she sat down and played a beautiful song, it was exactly as I saw it in the scene. One of the main characters’ names is actually created from someone in my family that now sadly lives far from me. There are many other secrets hidden in the book which tie into my real life, but some are best kept wrapped.

How did you find the creative process of writing your first book?

It took me a long time to internally process how I was going to picture, build, and grow the characters in my books. A penny dropped for me many years later and I began my journey of penning the stories that have been locked away in my mind for a very long time. That journey was difficult to begin. I was like a child that was learning to walk, but I knew some of the theory. At times it just flowed onto the pages and other times it was like hand crafting the tiles for the Sistine Chapel. It took me two years to write my first book and I went through some personal hard times along the way that put big hits into the writing schedule.  I took months of not writing at all, but eventually got the first Legends of Marithia book back on track and completed it.

Do you have any strange quirks or rituals that you undertake to get yourself into the creative process?

I have my moments of craziness as all writers do. I tend to play fantasy themed music at times to help the process. As a visual writer, I need to experience what is happening and see the events unfold in my mind to be able to write. Music helps take my mind back to Marithia. Inspiration strikes at bizarre times and I tend to have to note something down. I have been unable to sleep sometimes if something or someone is begging to be written and I have been known to work a 10 hour day in IT and spend hours writing because I just *have* to get it out.

Do you read reviews of your work and if so do you let it affect you?

Our work is very close to our hearts as writers, but one has to be able to step back and appreciate a reader’s point of view. Do I read reviews? Of course I do, but if I get a negative review… my first reaction is to find out what it is that caused that reader to feel that way and to take that on board for my future writing. I have had situations of people giving me quite harsh feedback on a preview which had no grounds for it and the fact remains that not everybody will like a book and some people are out there to drag someone else down. Does it sting? A little… but if there is merit and reasoning in constructive feedback then I am all for it, otherwise I take a deep breath and do not let it stay with me.

Who is your favourite character from your book and why?

This is like asking a parent to choose their favourite child, I like all of them. Although I have found that readers tend to like the antagonists, in particular, Kassina. I have to admit, she is quite the character. A vampire sorceress that is dangerous, but exciting and sexy. She is very fun to write.

What do you think makes a good story?

I think that a good story is one that taps into reader’s emotions and gives them something that they do not expect. There is nothing worse than reading or watching something that is entirely predictable or has plastic characters. I watch movies, read books, and write books to feel a connection. I recall many times when I was writing that I shed tears, shook with adrenaline, was drenched with fear, and I try to convey that through words.

What is your greatest writing goal?

I wish for my books to be shared with as many people as best sellers and to be brought to life on screen. Many of my readers have told me that my books would make amazing movies, albeit incredibly difficult to make.

Where do you get your information or ideas for your books?

Inspiration comes to me from many sources and sometimes it completely surprises me. I might be having a conversation with someone and something that they say triggers an image in my mind. Sometimes it can be from movies and video games. I have had many ideas from dreams and those can sometimes give us images and thoughts that I may otherwise never think of when I am awake.

If you could give up your day job, so to speak, would you?

If planets align and I make a bigger career out of my writing than IT, then I would definitely consider it. I would definitely try to hand on to both careers for as long as possible.

And finally, do you have anything new in the works?

I am in the midst of writing Legends of Marithia: Book 2 as we speak and it is making incredible progress. As of yet, I am undecided of who it will be published and how it will be published, but I am open to agents and publishers. For fans of the first book, I will be very excited to make the second book available for them to read. There will be many books in the Marithia series.

I really enjoyed reading Peter’s book and I’m sure everyone else will as well.

http://peterkoevari.com/blog/

http://torchundertheblanketbooks.com/2010/06/25/legends-of-marithia-book-1-book-review/

