Ikea its a word that brings out so many responses in people. Love , fear, utter dread, exhaustion, excitement and extreme joy. Whatever it is people feel it seems to always be a strong emotion. I have mixed emotions about Ikea myself I swing from fear to excitement.

The fear comes from OMG the money I will spend, simply because I know that in spite of my best efforts I will not, I repeat not, buy the one thing I go there to buy. Oh no I will of course buy at least ten items that I don’t need one item I do need and of course a bag full of small random items that i don’t even remember picking up.

I will leave home with the best intentions to only go in and grab the one thing I am making the mission to get. But upon entering the brightly lit showroom that is my personal crack addiction I go to bits. I go weak at the knees, I start to breathe shallowly, my hart races with all the possibilities. And my pupils dilate. I start to take in all the things that Ikea has on offer.

Furniture and cook wear, rugs and candle holders, curtains, sheets, towels the list is endless. It’s a mecca for shopping for house obsessed people like me. I will admit it here and now I am an Ikea addict. It’s not something I proud of, it’s not something I endorse. But this is a real and serious affliction.

And this is where the problem lies, as much as I fear the trip to Ikea the pilgrimage to mecca as I call it. I love it, I simply cant get enough of it. It’s a shopping emporium cleverly designed to suck you in to the void and not let you out until you have experienced everything it has to offer. This is of course very shrewd business. This store is designed in such a way that you cant help but see how miraculously the whole Ikea story goes together. From bedrooms to lounge rooms to kitchens they have it all. And it’s there waiting for you to buy it. All cleverly laid out in perfect little rooms designed to look like a room in a house so that you the don’t even have to think about how to decorate.

I love it because for me ( a very very house proud person ) it is an affordable and stylish way to completely change the look of any room in your house. Of course admittedly Ikea has its drawbacks, the crowds of people, the floor to ceiling stock, the never-ending maze that is the store itself. But no matter how many the drawbacks, for me the positives far outweigh the negatives.

I went for a trip to Ikea yesterday to get a bookcase, yes one bookcase. Of course I came home with a bookcase, 6 photo frames, 2 vases, 2 storage boxes, 4 storage baskets, flowers, plants, a print, a clock , 6 candles, 4 candle holders…umm I think that’s it ….but there could be more. Now you see what I mean don’t you.

I came home so excited to re decorate my bedroom from floor to ceiling. I now owned enough storage solutions to arrange every office in Parliament House. Bear in mind I was only trying to organise a bedroom for two people. But no the madness took over. I couldn’t stop I had to have it all. And yes when I got home of course I didn’t need all of it no, not even half really.

Anyway I came home and got my very useful handyman Man to put it all together ( I don’t do the heavy lifting ) and so began my most favourite part of the whole experience the decorating ( I think I was a decorator in a past life ) I get a weird thrill from seeing organisation coming together. I get the same thrill from cleaning ( I know I’m sick I have a problem lol )

My bedroom was transformed before my eyes, everything in its place all shiny and new and exciting. Was that enough to feed the best ? to satiate the hunger ? ….Of course not ! I started to see what could be changed, improved, re organised. I wanted to go back the very next day to get more. A new bed, a new chest of drawers, a bedside table to match, the list was endless.

I have started to circle all the items in the catalogue that will of course make my life complete. My brain is craving the next Ikea hit.

All in all it was a really successful trip, I got what I needed and yes some, ok lots of things I didn’t need. But my bedroom looks amazing, my life is more organised. Did I need to spend the buckets of money that I did? No, did I enjoy it ? ohh yes !

So love it or hate it you have to admit that Ikea for its few faults is a great place to shop. Even if you do spend money you shouldn’t be spending. Yesterdays trip did nothing to change my feelings about Ikea it only reinforced my obsessive love for the mecca of household items.

So thank you Ikea you have transformed my bedroom to the oasis I wanted it to be. And don’t fret Ill be back soon to go crazy again. Once an Ikea addict always an addict.

 

BlondiieC

xox

 

http://www.ikea.com/au/en/

 

 


