This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Well it’s that time of the week the cupboards were beginning to get bare and we were down to all the crap that’s left, that if you try reeeeaaallly hard you may make a meal out of it but really who could be bothered ? So it was off to complete the dreaded food shopping. Now I love cooking!, I adore making food and baking and all the kitchen stuff but the food shopping, well lets be honest it’s not the best activity now is it ?

I used to be a bit of a fan of the food shopping id scour the local produce markets and go to different stores and really enjoy the process……Until I had a child! Yesss I hear all the groans of sympathy and the “I knows” and even in some cases I’m sure the “I told you so’s”. I know that all mothers and fathers out there have felt that stabbing sense of dread as they realise that day is looming yet again, when u have to venture out, into the supermarket abyss armed only with a trolley , a list and a small shred of your sanity.

And as if that’s not scary enough there is that little voice singing away in their car seat reminding you of their presence the TODDLER …..*shudder. Yes I love my daughter of course I do, I love her to the point of distraction. Do I love taking her shopping though ? ohh HELL NO !

Food shopping is tiring, it’s a grudge purchase, its hard work and it certainly isn’t going to make your day any brighter. Because not only have you shopped for the food then it has to be loaded in to the car then into the house then unpacked and then of course it’s sitting there waiting for you to cook something with it.

But all that aside……. it’s the constant noise of a demanding toddler that makes the entire experience that much more difficult. The whinging, the cranky faces the constant grabbing at EVERYTHING ! not to mention the constant finding of food items to pull out of the trolley and attempt to devour. Please someone tell me i’m not alone here ? Im not am I? This is how it goes for all parents.

Well I braved it today and as if I don’t deserve a medal for that sheer feat of bravery alone I did it while it was raining. Yes raining that sort of weather that makes all small children crazy and just a bit harder to manage. But to add to the joy where I live there appears to be an alarming trend of building supermarkets without undercover parking ANYWHERE ! what is that about ? Is it that hard to pop up a little coverage?

So It’s not just struggle out of the car with baby in tow, find a trolley that isn’t wet from the inclement weather, battle the crowds and get in there but now we can do it all while getting rained on. lucky us!

So whats the point of all of this ? Well simply to say to all you other parents out there ……You are not alone, my child drives me crazy at times, she makes food shopping the most tedious chore and YES I hate struggling through open air car parks with a baby during a downpour. I find it all makes me frazzled and cranky two things I really don’t like feeling.

But there is an upside to it all, silver lining to the rain clouds and all that. In that I got home with a boot full of food, a toddler who was satisfied that she had been out somewhere and enough food to cook meals for at least a week. That’s the best part of it, knowing that I don’t have to contemplate that hideous adventure for at least another week.

 

BlondiieC

xox

 


