I rarely will write a bad review, I would rather say nothing all that stuff about if you can’t say anything nice blah blah blah, but this book kind of calls for a bad review I think.

Last Night at The Chateau Marmont is written by Lauren Weisberger author of The Devil Wears Prada. Now it must be said that I did enjoy The Devil Wears Prada and I was rather excited to start this book. Is there anything more frustrating than having all your excited expectations smashed ? no not really. I don’t shy away from anything I will read books of all genre’s and I have been known to enjoy the odd chick lit book from time to time. ( I have to say that I hate that term though it’s so painfully derogatory can we think of something less demeaning ?) Anyway I digress, This book was really not a great read at all and I was so disappointed !

Last Night at the Chateau Marmont was not surprising in any way, girl meets boy, boy is musician (cue swooning) .Girl supports boys musical aspirations and boy and girl fall in love.

After many years together boy finally finds fame and then oh surprise boy cheats on girl!  Very typical chick lit popcorn for the brain but unfortunately it didn’t even entertain me. I found this book predictable boring and a touch insulting the protagonist borders on complete desperation and total self-denial it’s not romantic its just awful.

And the only chance for redemption was destroyed when after the cheating she still fails to get a backbone and tell him to go away very dreary holiday reading would appeal to early twenties non readers who like fluff. A shame really because The Devil Wears Prada was quite good but this fails to deliver the same zing and funny one liners that pulled you in the first time.

 

BlondiieC


