So it’s about that time of they year again where everyone gathers to celebrate…well ME ! and why not ? It is my bday after all ! But what is it about bday parties that seems to place so much more emphasis on how we look and what we wear ?

I mean I see these friends all year round not just one day of the year, they see me in pyjamas and work clothes and dressed up for all occasions but for some reason unknown to me we all feel this bizarre need to look a certain way for out bday’s. Is it because we are trying to convince ourseleves that “no of course you don’t look a day older” or is something more like “I don’t want to be judged” ?

I really wish I knew, because despite all my efforts to embrace my thrities with a smile on my face, (Which I have to say I think ive done very well at) I still feel this ridiculous need to look good for my bday party. I have bought no less than four dresses yes four ! I’m going to get my nails done and a pedciure, hair blow dried, all new jewellery and for what ? So I can stand around in a dark bar where no one will really even notice and if they did they probably wouldn’t care. Why wouldn’t they care ? because they are my friends, not frenemies they love me no matter what.

But I have to admit this is not a rant or a whine, I love the process of getting dolled up and picking an outfit and all the silliness of it. I love the anticipation of the lead up to the party the excitement building,

I’m so excited and it’s not just because as a mother I don’t get a lot of opportunities to really glam it up it’s because I look forward to being with a group of people I love, having a drink and a laugh and enjoying the simple pleasure of being together. Its knowing that even though I probably wont look any different to any other day, that my girlfriends will know that I have spent a whole day getting dressed primping and preening.Its that for one night even though I may not look that different I get to feel like a better more sparkly version of myself.

I love parties, I love the glitz and the glamour and the throwing off of things that worry you in favour of worrying about trivial matters such as the colour of my toenail polish and do I have the right bag?. It’s a night to throw away stress and worries and just have a good time. A night to share with the people who you love the most and to have fun.

Its my thirtieth bday party tonight and  cant wait to share it with my friend who love me and just for one night forget that im a mother, or someone who has problems and just be ME, carefree young and ready to have fun ! Its party time and even though I know I will regret it tomorrow im going to put on my highest shoes and party the night away !!

 

BlondiieC

xox

