Hi and thanks for checking out my brand new blog Babble and Books, I have never blogged before so it should be interesting to see how it all goes. I guess the first thing I want everyone who may read this to know is some random stuff about me, who I am, what I believe in, what I love, what makes me tick…….

First I work for an independent book store in beautiful Brisbane, I have pretty much scored my dream job, even when I was little I dreamed of working in a bookstore. (granted the one I imagined was old and musty and had a cat that lived there) I loved the feeling that washed over you when you entered a book store a sense of calm among the chaos, the quirky people who worked there and the shelves stacked floor to ceiling with books all waiting for someone to take them home. The reality doesn’t differ that much from the dream, the people I work with are unique and quirky, the shelves are stacked from floor to almost ceiling, the children’s area is a place of fun and learning and the calm? well most days it’s the calm place amidst the chaos. (sometimes its the chaos, but only around Holidays)

I have been so blessed to have found a niche where I fit in, Im strange and nerdy and I read a lot and to be honest if it was up to me I would more than likely choose books over people. It’s the perfect place to fly the freak flag high or be who I want to be. I get to read books, review books and best of all ? I get to interview authors I admire. I work with people I adore, they are friends as well as colleagues. I get to meet different interesting people everyday and sell a product I believe in and that I’m passionate about.

But obviously that not all I do. I’m a mother to a very intense, cheeky, funny crazy little girl who makes my world go round. She is the reason I get up everyday and she makes me smile even when I don’t feel like I can. She is the joy that never has to be shared. I’m grateful that I have someone so tiny who opened my eyes to what a huge and magical place the world really is. Whenever I feel jaded I look at the world through her eyes and it all seems right again.

I’m many other things as well and like any woman no one thing defines me. I work, I’m a mother, a friend, a sister, a cousin, and to those who know me I’m the girl I always was, before the baby and the grown up responsibilities. Im the friend who picks up the phone at 3am and listens to my friends crying, I’m the girl who loves to listen to glam metal and sing along like nobody is listening, I’m the woman who strives to make a life that I am proud of and the Mother who wants to be a role model to her daughter.

I believe that music can heal your soul and give you the words when you can’t find them for yourself. I believe that we all have a voice that we can use to affect change in the world. I believe that people are inherently good but sometimes life takes them on a journey that changes that. I believe that books are way to escape anything that troubles you. I believe that everyone can make a difference in the world if they are willing to try.

I love the smell of coffee in the morning and the taste of a crisp glass of white wine at the end of a working week. I love to watch summer storms roll in over the bay, I love to listen to rain and I love the way it smells. I love my friends and I know that I wouldn’t be half the person I am today without them. I love my family with all their weird quirks and crazy personalities and I love my dogs, they make me laugh every day.

I love that I have the opportunity to express myself through writing and that I have a platform to put my voice out into the world. I love that I have the opportunity to meet people who inspire me and that I get to do a job that I love. I hope that my blog is something that people will enjoy and that my reviews encourage people to read.

I cant wait to start this thing and get into the world of blogging and writing, I hope that you enjoy what you read here. I will post many different things every day and I hope anyone who stumbles upon my blog enjoys it.

So I guess its nice to meet you, sort of . Please leave comments and come back again, I hope to hear from you soon !

 

Cheers Blondiie C

xox

 

